The Thigh Gap Nation Surrounding Us

Image

Okay, we have all been guilty of envying the girls with .1% body fat and those “thigh gaps” every girl in the world seems to be going insane over, literally. What is a thigh gap? To be blunt, its where your legs DO NOT rub together when you stand or walk. Yes, my legs rub together when I walk and so do most girls, does that mean I don’t mind it? I hate it actually. I went through a phase where I wanted the thigh gap and to be stick thin, but then it occurred to me, HA I have hips and an ass.. It’s not going to happen for me. That doesn’t mean I don’t want to get thinner, but in a healthy way.

The craze with the thigh gap has not only captivated teenagers attention, but also the world. Photoshop fails at Target have come out and they were put on blast. Lets be honest here though, sales would go down if photos of girls with cellulite were shown in photos. Doesn’t mean I agree with this craze going on, because I don’t, I much rather see a real woman, flaws and all, showing off a bikini, with a behind, dimples and all, but its the harsh reality. Trust me ladies, do not starve yourself over something that your body may not even allow and over a “diet” phase. Its not worth it.

When every December rolls around, Victoria Secret show airs on the television and makes every girl cringe at the perfect legs and bodies these women have. Remember though, they are paid to stay that way and some of us aren’t 5’10” and up.. (I’m only making it to 5’4″ here..) But I am still guilty of hitting the gym and running for a solid 2 hours for about a week after the show and then I hit the couch with some ice cream saying “Well, I tried”.

When is this crazy fad diet going to pass? Even though I said it was only a phase and it will pass, I don’t think it will for a very long time. Be kind to your body, don’t torture it and don’t starve it. Don’t have the psych ward calling you, thats never a good sign.

Photo: Found on my tumblr. http://www.roses-and-blood.tumblr.com

6 comments

  1. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for
    me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to
    create your theme? Great work!

  2. Amazing! Тhiѕ blog looks exactly like my old ߋne! It’s on a completely different subject but it has pretty much
    the same page layout anոd dеsign. Excellent choice οf
    colors!

  3. “Thigh Gap” doesn’t exactly come from loosing weight… what it mainly comes from is healthy muscle tone in thighs… what causes the “gap” are the areas where your thigh meets in two different places – the ultra-thin model in your picture doesn’t have “thigh gap” because she doesn’t have any muscle tone at all. I hope to usher in an era of women who work out because they feel more energy when they move around, with an emphasis on themselves and not on those around them – fake or not. I’d love to see women eat a few cookies because they have a hankering for that instead of feeling guilt because they bashed a whole pint of haagen das the night before after using food for something to fill an emotional hole inside them. I want to stop seeing women “punish” themselves by deprivation and simply let go, shapes be damned, and KEEP MOVING upward, forward and onward in life without re-reading those past chapters… I want to see women begin to write their own stories and lose concern over the perceived realities of other’s stories whom they don’t even know… “beauty from the inside out”…. http://santafefashionweek.com Amanda Caserta Executive Producer Santa Fe Fashion Week

Leave a Reply

